Home > General > Factory Farms & The Meat Disconnect

Factory Farms & The Meat Disconnect

Vegan Mermaid

One of the most frequent questions I’m asked is, “What made you go vegan?”

Since I was little, I was a vegetarian (or, almost.) My parents have been divorced since before I could remember, and I spent most of my time at my mom’s house. My mother was a vegetarian for the most, and so it wasn’t often that I was presented with meat. When I was, I shuddered at the oddly shaped globs of carcass on other’s plates and grimaced at the red juices that seeped from inside.

However, sometimes when my dad picked me up on the weekends, we went out to eat at restaurants where I’d order the “kid-friendly” chicken-nuggets. I loved popping the bite-sized morsels in my mouth and the umami juices that lingered. Somewhere in the back of my mind, I knew that I was eating a chicken. I imagined the chickens pecking jubilantly in…

View original post 878 more words

  1. April 9, 2014 at 14:51

    Thanks for sharing my post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

