Home > General > 1968 – A Year of Historical Significance

1968 – A Year of Historical Significance

A World Affair

Blogging, or my interpretation of blogging, is about expressing your own interests and a lot of my posts on A World Affair include snippets of topics I have studied so far in my university life which have shaped my outlook on certain regions and periods.

1968, however, was a topic covered in a single lecture during my first year at university, yet its historical significance continues to amaze me.

I’d like to introduce the scope of events which occurred in this year, but I’d also like to address the main contentious themes that were enveloped into almost every form of activism: the Vietnam War, the Civil Rights Movement, and the Cold War.

Key Events of 1968:

  • The Prague Spring, Czechoslovakia
  • The Tet Offensive launched by the Viet Cong
  • Martin Luther King Jr assassinated
  • Civil Rights Act
  • Grosvenor Square Protest
  • Paris Protests
  • Black Power salutes of Tommie Smith and John Carlos
  • “I’m…

View original post 954 more words

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

