Home > Anti-Capitalism, Books, Enviroment, General, Politics > The machine stops

The machine stops

November 28, 2016 Leave a comment Go to comments

I would like to share with you this short story book I have just finished reading called “the machine stops” by EM Forster. Downloadable free and first published in 1909.

The reason I became interested is that I follow an old band called Hawkwind, who have just brought out a new album by the same name “the machine stops”. Inquizative as I am I thought, I wonder where they got the title, which lead me to this book.

The story basically describes a world in which most of the human population live underground where communication is by instant messaging/video conferencing machine. This is used for sharing ideas and what passes as knowledge. When you think when this was written, it is far out.

Anyway, have a read and comment your thoughts.

  1. November 26, 2016 at 08:39

    Wow! I thought I’d read most of EM Forster, but not heard of this one. Will definitely take a look. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

